The 7 Chakras – Video

by | May 30, 2021

The 7 Chakras


Chakra, Definition: 

The literal translation is “disk” or “wheel”and refers to a spinning vortex of bioenergetic activity emanating from the major nerve ganglia. Metaphorically chakra means a psycho-energetic centre of organization that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy and they correlate with basic states of consciousness. The chakra system originated in India, more than 5,000 years ago. They were referred to in the ancient literature of the Vedas, the later Upanishads, the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali and most thoroughly in the 16th century by an Indian yogi in a text called the Sat-Chakra-Nirupana. 


A marma is a doorway of consciousness, while a chakra is a reservoir of consciousness. Stimulating a marma activates the energy of the corresponding  chakra through its pranic energy currents. Thus, marmani help to complete the meeting points, the polarities of male and female, inner and outer, leader and led and so forth, they help us to unfold higher spiritual experiences.


The fundamental chakra system consists of seven energy centers which are sometimes referred to as wheels of light. They align along the spinal column from the base of spine to the head; along one of the three major nadi’s, the central energetic river, Sushumna. There are also minor chakras in the hands, feet, fingertips and shoulders. Chakras are not physical entities, rather they are like feelings or ideas, they are not tangible like a physical object, yet they have a strong effect upon the body as they express the embodiment of emotional and spiritual energies on the physical plane.


These energy centers are non-physical in nature, but correspond to major nerve plexuses that relate to endocrine systems and create a link between the body, mind and spirit. Thus the chakras have a location, even though they do not exist in the anatomical sense. Each of the seven major chakras acts as a repository of information and experience about the individual. The chakras have physical, emotional and spiritual significance. They can be worked with individually and also as a collective. 

Emotions & Chakras

Just as emotions affect our breathing, heart rate and metabolism, the state of the activities in the various chakras influence our glandular processes, body shape, chronic physical ailments, thoughts, feelings and behavior. With the use of techniques such as yoga, breathing, bioenergetics, physical exercises, bodywork, meditation, mantra, mudra and visualization, we can in turn, influence our chakras, our health and our lives. 


Koshas & Chakras

Each chakra is related to one of the five koshas, except for the crown chakra, which is beyond the koshas of the mind. The koshas are explained as the crystallization of the manifestations of the mind. The mind is subjective experience, the body is objective experience, as is the material world. Due to all of the different frequencies of images, experiences, thoughts and emotions, the mind manifests into these different layers or koshas. 

Topics Include…

Deeper Dimensions of Yoga

Self Inquiry & Connecting to your Intuition

Energetic Anatomy

The Marma Points

The Chakra System

Somatic Integration- Chakra Yoga Class